Frequently Asked Questions

Why are the National BAME Health and Care Awards important?

Currently, 10.6% of children and family social workers, one in five nurses, more than one in three doctors, and one in six of all NHS staff are from Black, Asian and Minority Ethnic (BAME) backgrounds. Yet many studies have shown BAME staff are under-represented in senior roles and experience discrimination in their career in health care services. These awards create a significant opportunity for ensuring recognition of staff who show ambition and vision in securing access and service improvements for BAME communities


Who organises the National BAME Health and Care Awards?

A group of passionate volunteers from the health and care sector,  in collaboration with Colourful Healthcare CIC, are launching the awards in 2019 to champion the importance of recognising BAME talent and innovation in the sector.


How do I enter?

Nominations open on 16 April 2020 and will close in 18th September 2020. You can enter yourself, suggest a colleague or be nominated. Go to the nominations page and enter digitally (online) or you can download the Word version of the nomination form.


Who can enter the BAME Health and Care Awards?

Nominees must be either a current employee or a staff team in a health or care service in the statutory, voluntary or private sector in the UK (England, Scotland, Wales and Northern Ireland).


How are the awards funded?

Fundraising and sponsorship –  contact us about our sponsorship packages and see our Crowdfunding page 


What happens with my nomination? 

Our panel of expert judges will review the applications, draw up a shortlist and select the winner in each of the award categories. See the panel of  judges page.

The winners will be announced at a prestigious ceremony on 15 October 2020 to celebrate their achievements, share best practice, and to champion BAME inclusion throughout the health and care sector.


Do I have to tell the person I am nominating them?

We advise that you inform anyone you are nominating that you have done so (and tell them the ceremony date), although this is at your own discretion.


How many categories are there?

There are 10 awards categories. For full details please visit the categories page on the Awards website.


    • Compassionate and Inclusive Leader
    • Ground-Breaking Researcher
    • Outstanding Student / Apprentice
    • Inspiring Diversity and Inclusion Lead
    • Integration innovator
    • Clinical Champion
    • Digital Champion
    • Inspiring service user or patient
    • Health & Wellbeing Advocate
    • Workforce Innovator


Who can attend the awards ceremony?

Anyone can attend but tickets a limited.  Look out for our notifications about ticket release on social media.


When is the awards ceremony?

The Awards ceremony will take place in central London on 15th October 2020. More details will be released over the coming weeks so follow us on social media (@BAME_HCA ) to keep up to date with the latest news!


Who should I contact if I have any questions about the Awards process? 

Should you need further information please contact the team at